King Albert Park
The King Albert Park (Koning Albertpark) was originally named the Leie Park. It was created in 1905 in a bend of the Leie that had been filled in. In 1935, the Leie Park was rechristened the Albert Park, and in 1968 the King Albert Park. This open city park, spanning two hectares, fringes the crossroads of Kortrijk's main waterways. The two branches of the Leie and the Canal Bossuit-Kortrijk meet here, splitting the park into four sections, which are linked by bridges. The park has been completely redeveloped, expanded and integrated in the beautiful new environment of the Leie riverbanks as part of the Leie works.
Location: Burgemeester Vercruysselaan | Damkaai
he Buda Beach is part of the complete redevelopment of the Leie and its riverbanks. This is a place where people of all ages can relax in the beautiful environment of the Leie. In July and August the Buda Beach is transformed into a beach with a sunbathing meadow and bar, enabling local residents and tourists alike to make the most of the sun. Swimming in the Leie is not permitted due to the dangerous undercurrent.
Opening hours: freely accessible. The bar is only open in the summer months.
The Plein boasts a military past. In the mid 17th century, a citadel was constructed here with barracks. In the middle of the military buildings was a training ground, the Plein. The military buildings were demolished, trees were planted and in 1879 the Plein became a public park. In 2002, it was renovated according to a design by the Wirtz agency. The rich canopied trees were felled and made room for arbours with paths made of dolomite. The fountains afford the park a vibrant touch. At the centre you will find a stage nestling between the grandstands. The monumental plane trees, linden and wild chestnuts are familiar features of the park.
Location: Plein / Voorstraat / Gentsestraat
Queen Astrid Park
The park (Koningin Astridpark) owes its name to a visit by Queen Astrid in April 1935, four months before she died in a car crash. The park had already existed for a long time as the People's Park (Volkspark). The first section was designed in 1906, and the park was expanded with 1 hectare in 1996. From 2003 the park was restored in several phases. The lake was restored to its historical condition as were the fountains at the entrance. The two lions, which had flanked the park's entrance since its beginnings, were also restored and decked out in a cheerful yellow colour chosen by local residents. Two semicircular covered, leafy corridors of American linden trees guide you to the centre of the park.
Location: Graaf de Smet de Nayerlaan | Brugsestraat
The largest part of the Béguinage Park (Begijnhofpark) used to belong to the gardens of Groeninge Abbey and the Sint-Vincentius rest home. The last residents of Groeninge Abbey were the Poor Clares.
Today the park is still completely enclosed by its surrounding wall, and has three different entrances. Of the original park structure only the old dividing wall with its three masonry gates, a small chapel and a few valuable trees remain.
Groeninge Abbey houses Kortrijk 1302, where you can learn all about the Battle of the Golden Spurs. The park also serves as a stunning backdrop for numerous outdoor activities such as the 'Mayday Mayday' festival, summer concerts and exhibitions.
Location: Begijnhofpark / Houtmarkt
Tip: This is a great place for a picnic with family or friends
The rose garden (Rozentuin) is located in the historic green environment of 't Hoge Castle Park. This park, which occupies over 3 ha, is more than 175 years old and is home to several remarkable trees. In 1959, a section of the park was arranged as a rosarium. The rose garden comprises an experimental garden where more than a hundred new varieties of roses from European breeders are planted every year. There is also a demonstration garden with rose varieties that have proven to be successful and a historical garden that paints a picture of the rose's evolution through the centuries.
Stadsgroen Marionetten, De Libel and Hoeve Te Coucx
The Marionetten Green urban area development is still fully underway. The green, urban area encompasses diverse 'landscape chambers', which in recent years, have been systematically planted or ecologically managed. The final result will be a green, open area, interspersed with trees.
Hof Te Coucx is a nature education centre where sustainability is paramount. The centre is heated using wood pellets and there is a reed bed for purifying wastewater. The farm acts as a base for soft recreation.
The Libel is a nature education pavilion, shaped like a giant dragonfly and located at the area's highest point.
The Leiestreek West cycling network passes by the area.